HTML 5 (Hyper Text Markup Language{A language for structuring and presenting for the world wide web}) launched at December 2012 by W3C (World Wide Web Consortium).


It’s very simple to declare doctype in HTML 5

<!DOCTYPE html>

hyper text markup language 5


Same extension as previous in HTML 4.01 .html

New features added in HTML5:

  • The <canvas> element for 2D drawing
  • The <video> and <audio> elements for media playback
  • Support for local storage
  • New content-specific elements, like <article>, <footer>, <header>, <nav>, <section>
  • New form controls, like calendar, date, time, email, url, search

Browser Support

Internet Explorer 10 , Chrome 28, Firefox 18  support HTML 5 functionality.